Library Online

Databases - B

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U V W X Y Z Others

BAFTA (British Academy of Film and Television Arts)

Press releases, film award brochures, history of the Academy.

Bar Directory, The

Currently, all the information on Legal Hub is free to access. However, visitors are asked to register to use certain features on the site

  • On the Web: Connect
    (Via Legal Hub)

Barbour Product Search

An online directory offering an accessible platform for architects, contractors and other specifiers within the construction community. Features a fully searchable database of products and suppliers, including images, case studies, technical data, catalogues, news and project data.

BCIS Online

Built Environment Staff and Students can access this on-campus via MyBeckett. Please check with Built Environment Staff.

Berg Fashion Library

The Berg Fashion Library is an online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections - including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.

  • On the Web: via Berg Fashion Library Connect

BFI (British Film Institute)

Information about BFI services, including the library, publications. Events and information about National Film Theatre and Museum of the Moving Image.

BFI InView

Moving Images in the Public Sphere. It provides a selection of material drawn from the rich film and television collections of the BFI National Archive, working with partner organisations.

  • On the Web: Connect
    (Select the login button it brings up the UK Access Management login screen - Select Leeds Metropolitan University from the list)

BHI Plus CD-ROM (Variant title: British Humanities Index)

  • On CD-ROM: at Civic Quarter
    Coverage: 1985 to date

Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH)


Access: Unrestricted on campus; Leeds Met username and password may be required off campus

  • On the Web: via Bibliography of British and Irish History Connect

Bibliography of the History of British Art

  • In Print: at Civic Quarter; Shelved at: Bibs 016.7
    Holdings: 1938-1948

Bibliomania (Free online literature website that contains the full text of more than 2000 classic books (including classic fiction, drama, poetry, short stories and contemporary articles and interviews). Also includes literature book notes, author biographies, book summaries, reference books and study guides to the most read books. )

BioMed Central

BioMed Central publishes 257 peer-reviewed open access journals.

Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts

Information database covering all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.

Access: Unrestricted on campus; Leeds Met username and password may be required off-campus.

Biotechnology Research Abstracts

This database provides research articles on biotechnology (medical, agricultural, and environmental) and bioengineering.

Access: Unrestricted on campus; Leeds Met username and password may be required off-campus.

Black Film Center/Archive

Repository of films and related materials by and about African Americans. Included are films with substantial participation by African Americans as writers, actors, producers, directors, musicians, and consultants, as well as those that depict some aspect of black experience.

BLL Conference Index

Search tool covering conference proceedings, in all subject areas, held by the British Lending Library from 1964-1973. All conference proceedings are available for loan from the British Library Loan Service.

  • In Print: at Civic Quarter; Shelved at: Bibs 016.05
    Holdings: 1964-1973

BNF (British NationalFormulary)

Information database on the selection and clinical use of medicines. To access as a personal user you need to register.

BOPCRIS - British Official Publications Collaborative Reader Information Service

Web site where you can search and browse information from British Official Publications over the period 1688-1995, including Parliamentary Papers and Command Papers.

  • On the Web: Connect
    Coverage: 1688-1995

BPI [British Phonographic Industry]

BPI represents the UK's recorded music industry.

  • On the Web: Connect
    (For purchasing reports and books you can register with your email address and choose your own password.)

BRAD Insight

Marketing and media intelligence. This provides access to BRAD CONNECT service only.

Brand Republic

Brand Republic is the leading destination for real-time intelligence in the marketing and communications industry. To register you will need to use your Leeds Met email address. Using a personal email address does not work. Once you have registered, our subscription gives you access to:

  • brandrepublic.com
  • campaignlive.co.uk
  • marketingmagazine.co.uk
  • mediaweek.co.uk
  • prweek.co.uk

To Register

To gain access to Brand Republic, you will need to register at http://users.brandrepublic.com/register/basic/

Registration gives you unlimited access to the entire Brand Republic Group. Please note you will need to complete all steps of the registration process i.e. your contact details and address details. For the Organisation type please select University and for Job Function please select the function which is applicable to you i.e. Student or Academic. You will then be sent a verification email and will need to click on the link within the email to activate your account. Once you have activated your account, you will need to sign in.

Once signed on to one site, you will automatically be signed in the remaining four websites.

If you are already registered under your University email, all you need to do is sign in at http://users.brandrepublic.com/login

If you have forgotten your password, simply enter your email address at http://users.brandrepublic.com/password and your password will automatically be sent to your email account.

Bridgeman Education

An archive of images sourced from the world's leading museums, galleries, contemporary artists and private collections.

British Cartoon Archive

BCA gives free access to more than 125,000 fully-catalogued cartoons. All the cartoons on the website are indexed and searchable and the unique website allows users to browse and drill down into the collection by viewing cartoons published on the same day, by the selected cartoonist, or with the same keywords.

British Education Index

Provides references to journal literature on education and training. Also includes British Education Theses Index.

  • In Print: at Headingley; Shelved at: Bibs 016.37
    Holdings: 1984 to date

British History Online

British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.

British Library Sounds

Listen to a selection from the British Library?s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.

  • On the Web: Connect
    (To access this resource click on log in where it says Please log in via your home organisation, choose Leeds Metropolitan University from the drop down list and click on Select. )

British National Bibliography for Report Literature

  • In Print: at Headingley; Shelved at: Bibs 016.43
    Holdings: 1998 to 2003

British Newspapers 1600-1900

British Periodicals Online

Access: Unrestricted on campus; Leeds Met username and password may be required off-campus.

British Standards Online

Information database covering British Standards. This is the exclusive, authoritative, and most current site for all publications from British Standards Institute (BSI). It includes current, historic, and draft British Standards; BSI adopted European and international standards; technical handbooks; codes of practice; guidelines; and specifications for products, dimensions, performance, and glossaries.
Where do standards come from, and why are they important? Discover more here.


Access: Unrestricted on campus; Leeds Met username and password may be required off-campus.

BSCine.com

Home of the British Society of Cinematographers. Information on awards, news and articles. List of members.

BUFVC (British Universities Film & Video Council)

News and events, publications. Subject guide to educational videos.

Building Science Abstracts

  • In Print: at Civic Quarter; Shelved at: Bibs 016.69
    Holdings: 1928-1976

Bullen & Leake & Jacob's Precedents of Pleadings

Access: Unrestricted on campus; Leeds Met username and password may be required off campus.

  • On the Web: Connect
    (Via Westlaw)

Burney Newspaper Collection

17th-18th Century newspapers, pamphlets, and books

Business Automation

  • In Print: at Headingley; Shelved at: Bibs 016.004
    Holdings: 1989 to date

Business Insights Interactive Reports

  • On the Web: Connect
    (From December 2010 this is included as part of the content of Datamonitor 360 platform.)

Business Insights with Access Asia

  • On the Web: Connect
    (From December 2010 this is included as part of the content of Datamonitor 360 platform.)

Business Net

Business Periodicals Index

  • In Print: at Headingley; Shelved at: Bibs 016.658
    Holdings: 1999 to 2002

Business Source Premier

Large business search tool with the full text of over 2,800 journals.

Access: Unrestricted on campus; Leeds Met username and password may be required off campus